BOOK REVIEW + DISCUSSIONS : The Catastrophic History of You and Me by Jess Rothenberg

catastrophic.jpg

 

TITLE: The Catastrophic History of You and Me
AUTHOR: Jess Rothenberg
GENRE: Urban Fantasy, Young Adult, Contemporary
FORMAT: eBOOK
PUBLISHER: Razorbill
DATE READ: November 6, 2014

GRADD

3

GOODREADS:

Dying of a broken heart is just the beginning…. Welcome to forever.

Brie’s life ends at sixteen: Her boyfriend tells her he doesn’t love her, and the news breaks her heart—literally.

But now that she’s D&G (dead and gone), Brie is about to discover that love is way more complicated than she ever imagined. Back in Half Moon Bay, her family has begun to unravel. Her best friend has been keeping a secret about Jacob, the boy she loved and lost—and the truth behind his shattering betrayal. And then there’s Patrick, Brie’s mysterious new guide and resident Lost Soul . . . who just might hold the key to her forever after.

With Patrick’s help, Brie will have to pass through the five stages of grief before she’s ready to move on. But how do you begin again, when your heart is still in pieces?

anchor divider

spoiler filled review.png

“The trouble is, sometimes words are like arrows. Once you shoot them, there’s no going back.”

WHAT I LIKE ABOUT THIS BOOK

● It gave us an idea, a cool idea, that heaven is a place on earth only it’s more peaceful , free and gives you a forever and everlasting privileged of eating unlimited pizza.

● I like that it also introduced us to the stages a newly arrived soul has to undergo before becoming a free and peaceful soul in heaven.

● this book taught us that life sucks, life can be unfair, people can be cruel, but there’s always a reason behind every story. A reason why annoying things happen to us and why the people we trusted broke our hearts. Yes we could seek revenge as much as we like but after that, what? Nothing. You’ll more likely become lonelier than you are now. So what’s the key? Acceptance. Accept that life is never fair to anyone but the things that sucked will never remain sucked, it will get better AT THE RIGHT TIME,. And also let’s hear out the people who broke our hearts what they got to say before turning our backs on them. Maybe they have a reason for doing so. And even if they happened to have no reason at all, FORGIVE them. In that way you can move on.

● Too much love can kill you

● we’re lucky that we’re now breathing, alive and not dead at 15 years of age. Treasure our life, do what you want, express your love to your loved ones. Before it’s too late.

WHAT I DIDN’T LIKE ABOUT THIS BOOK

I FELT CHEATED. The whole idea , the plot and the moral of the story are all great.

But in the middle, especially about the Lily reincarnation part and the trading of soul moment on the island of nowhere became so confusing . I got lost. I mean suddenly, I was sure that I was on total grip with the characters but I lost the connection.

The plot become messy and the author failed to describe or help us get into the story to catch up the scenes she’s trying to imply. I have many questions unanswered and even I was surprised that suddenly everything was resolved and ended in a snap.

I didn’t felt a spark and chemistry towards Brie and Patrick. Their bond wasn’t entirely convincing. I felt like I needed something more to convince me that they can be a great OTP. But no, I wasn’t convinced enough.

giphy (2).gif

rating.png

Over all I’ll give this 3 stars. This is good book if you’ll look at it but I feel like the author has been confused all of a sudden how to tell her story that’s why the storyline become a little bit blurry. It’s not that I didn’t understand the story, because I do get her point. I just feel like it’s lacking .

But I don’t hate this book. I just didn’t like it A LOT as much as I thought I would .

anchor divider

FOLLOW ME:

INSTAGRAM.png

Follow Serene August's Goodreads Reviews.png

louisse

Leave a Reply

