BOOK REVIEW + DISCUSSIONS : Attachments by Rainbow Rowell

Attachments+US+Hardcover+hires.jpg

 

TITLE: Attachments
AUTHOR Rainbow Rowell
GENRE: New Adult, Contemporary
FORMAT: eBOOK
PUBLISHER: Plume
DATE READ: November 14, 2014

GRADD

GOODREADS:

2.png

“Hi, I’m the guy who reads your e-mail, and also, I love you . . . “

Beth Fremont and Jennifer Scribner-Snyder know that somebody is monitoring their work e-mail. (Everybody in the newsroom knows. It’s company policy.) But they can’t quite bring themselves to take it seriously. They go on sending each other endless and endlessly hilarious e-mails, discussing every aspect of their personal lives.

Meanwhile, Lincoln O’Neill can’t believe this is his job now- reading other people’s e-mail. When he applied to be “internet security officer,” he pictured himself building firewalls and crushing hackers- not writing up a report every time a sports reporter forwards a dirty joke.

When Lincoln comes across Beth’s and Jennifer’s messages, he knows he should turn them in. But he can’t help being entertained-and captivated-by their stories.

By the time Lincoln realizes he’s falling for Beth, it’s way too late to introduce himself.

What would he say . . . ?

anchor divider

spoiler filled review.png

I give it 2.5 stars.

It was an easy read, I mean if you want to be relaxed on Friday night after a hectic week at school. I liked the idea alone that we could fall in love with a person long before we could see them.

Though it was set in the year 1999 or 2000, it was pretty much the same with todays era. Teenagers often fall in love with the people they’ve never met in person, only through texts or chats. I’ve experienced that too, you know falling in love with a person whom you have no idea what he looks like or how he smells like after a night shower or does he have a scar on his eyebrows or freckles around his nose or does he have a nice hair . You were totally clueless but then you’ll fall for him because of his words, his thoughts , the way he constructs his sentences to convey his feelings about a certain thing.
The same thing happened to Lincoln. 🙂

But I really do have some issues toward this book:

  1. I didn’t see much development on Lincoln’s character aside from being brave enough to live in a separate house away from his mom. Yes we do know that he fell in love with Beth but he’s still uncertain about his feelings and a lot of things. He’s indecisive and his life looked like a zigzag road with no direction. I seriously don’t like him. I don’t find him attractive at all. I’m pissed at him especially in the part where he chose to quit the company because Beth is going on a date with Sean. I know that’s his only reason. He told Doris that he’s quitting because he can’t stand reading other people’s email Anymore, which is half true, but the main reason for quitting was Beth beth beth. He’s acting like a jealous prick (sorry for the term) but I really don’t like him as a character.

    2. I really liked Beth and it was a great move when she chose to break up with Chris, he’s a jerk after all. I mean how can a person claim to love you and has been together with you for 9 years says that he can’t stand marrying you coz you’re too much but he still loves you so you shouldn’t break up and stay like this forever. Miserably. I just wish I get to know more about Beth than by those emails. But it’s quite fair, the story showed only the side of Beth that Lincoln happened to know which is thru emails. Fair. Also I wish to hear more from Jen

    3. The romance was lacking, a bit rushed and didn’t left me a giddy – fluttering feeling.

 

I liked Eleanor and Park a lot apart from the ending, and this book is just an… okay book to me.  I still like Rainbow but this book and the story itself is not really my style.

anchor divider

FOLLOW ME:

INSTAGRAM.png

Follow Serene August's Goodreads Reviews.png

louisse

Leave a Reply

