RED QUEEN

red
MY RATING: 5 STARS

 

TITLE: Red Queen # 1

AUTHOR: Victoria Aveyard

FORMAT: Paperback

GENRES: Young Adult, Fantasy, Adventure, Science Fiction

PUBLISHER: Orion

DATE READ: August 9, 2015

GOODREADS SYNOPSIS:

This is a world divided by blood – red or silver.

The Reds are commoners, ruled by a Silver elite in possession of god-like superpowers. And to Mare Barrow, a seventeen-year-old Red girl from the poverty-stricken Stilts, it seems like nothing will ever change.

That is, until she finds herself working in the Silver Palace. Here, surrounded by the people she hates the most, Mare discovers that, despite her red blood, she possesses a deadly power of her own. One that threatens to destroy the balance of power.

Fearful of Mare’s potential, the Silvers hide her in plain view, declaring her a long-lost Silver princess, now engaged to a Silver prince. Despite knowing that one misstep would mean her death, Mare works silently to help the Red Guard, a militant resistance group, and bring down the Silver regime.

But this is a world of betrayal and lies, and Mare has entered a dangerous dance – Reds against Silvers, prince against prince, and Mare against her own heart…

 

MY REVIEW:

“Anyone can betray anyone”

Even my thoughts laughed at me and said : “what a silly deduction, that won’t happen.”

But my thoughts also betrayed me… “stupid lightning girl, Mare would utter to herself.”

All of this hype about this book is all worth it. Some may not agree with me, but that’s okay. We all have different eyes and besides, perspective has its own feet.

I remember the thing I’ve learned in my english class about dramatic structure of plots; exposition, rising action, climax, falling action, and resolution. This book has them. Although we haven’t reached a sheer clear resolution yet, it’s really good. Not much of a cliffhanger towards the end, but it keeps you wanting for more.

Hands down to Victoria Aveyard for such an amazing masterpiece. This book is phenomenal. You might say I’m over-reacting, but this book deserves a high praise. I enjoyed every bits of it from cover to cover. It kept me on the edge of my seat. And it’s an amazing experience. Just like what I felt when I read Legend trilogy.

THE PLOT:

Red Queen takes place in a fantasy setting where people are divided into different groups, depending on the colour of their blood. The silver blooded are blessed with extraordinary powers and live in the lap of luxury, whilst those with red blood are victims of extreme poverty and are treated as inferiors to the Silvers. Mare Barrow is a 17 year old Red girl, but through extreme circumstances discovers that despite the shade of her blood, she possesses an ability no one, not even a Silver, has ever seen before.  (Guardian bookshop, 2015)

What I like about this book:

It’s not boring. It gives you a great impending doom when you least expected it. (if you know what I mean)

Fearless plot twists. Epic fight scene (the best one I’ve seen so far. I can goddy picture it in my head.)

I like Mare Barrow as a protagonist. She’s strong and willful. I’m looking forward to see her growth and to see her be more powerful.

I like the plot and the chronology of story. How it started as normal and… BOOM. The big bomb.

I like the setting. It’s like I’m imagining a fantasy modernized world set in Medieval Europe because of the technologies and yes the kingdom.

I like the characters. They all served a purpose and we must be wary about them.

I love the revelations. I love how it taught us to be meticulous to everything. We must never let our guard down. Because indeed, ANYONE CAN BETRAY ANYONE

What I don’t like about this book.

It’s so good that I felt like there’s less revelations and plot twists left for the sequel. Ms. Aveyard managed to put the good stuff in the first book itself. Lots of things happened in one chapter, then the entire book. And I felt like dying from mixed emotions. AND IT’S OKAY. I ENJOYED IT. THIS IS HOW I LIKE IT.
Abd I wish the second book won’t disappoint. I am excited.

(I was kidding this is not something I hate about this book because as you can see, I love this book and I am indirectly saying that I DEMAND THE SEQUEL GLASS SWORD NOW! I WANT AN ARC COPY!!!)

I am looking forward for the sequel of this book. I hope no one dies. And I trust Ms. Aveyard that she will betray give us what we want. What is right for us Reds and Silvers.

We must Rise. RED AS DAWN

Leave a Reply

