ANGELFALL

ANGELFALL.jpg
MY RATING: 5 STARS!

 

TITLE: Angelfall (Penryn and The End of Days # 1)

AUTHOR: Susan Ee

GENRES: Young Adult, Post-Apocalyptic, Paranormal, Angels

FORMAT: Paperback

PUBLISHER: Hodder and Stoughton

DATE READ: October 19, 2015

GOODREADS SYNOPSIS: 

It’s been six weeks since angels of the apocalypse descended to demolish the modern world. Street gangs rule the day while fear and superstition rule the night. When warrior angels fly away with a helpless little girl, her seventeen-year-old sister Penryn will do anything to get her back.
Anything, including making a deal with an enemy angel.

Raffe is a warrior who lies broken and wingless on the street. After eons of fighting his own battles, he finds himself being rescued from a desperate situation by a half-starved teenage girl.

Traveling through a dark and twisted Northern California, they have only each other to rely on for survival. Together, they journey toward the angels’ stronghold in San Francisco where she’ll risk everything to rescue her sister and he’ll put himself at the mercy of his greatest enemies for the chance to be made whole again.

 

MY REVIEW:

“I never kid about my warrior demigod status.” (yes we know ^^)

 Fresh and edge of the seat plot + post-apocalyptic YA + action-packed + cannibals + badass angels + kickass heroine + comedy + interesting dialogues + a bit of romance most of all, the rude, obnoxious but omg ❤ Archangel Raphael

I have never heard of Susan Ee before but I came across her book while I was browsing for books with fresh plots and books which are not much hyped. (Well sometimes I have issues with hyped books that’s why.)

Anyway, I was reading it without any idea of what’s gonna happen. I just knew that there are angels and they are not so “here take my hand I’ll guide you to light” type. They are violent and viscous and they have been causing destruction to the Earth for quite some time. And that Penryn’s sister were taken by those angels that’s why she teamed up with a “fallen” angel named Raffe to help her find her sister.

I won’t elaborate much about the plot. but I highly recommend this to people who are looking for an action-packed non-cliche post-apocalyptic YA.

I really love this book~! It’s straight to the point and Susan Ee did a nice job of describing and crafting the world. I mean I don’t know how she did it, but it was direct but well executed.

The conversation between Raffe and Penryn were so funny. And I like the turn of events how it slowly fill in the loopholes like some puzzle pieces and before we knew it, the story line has become intact and we are now fully engrossed inside the story.

It’s only 325 pages and so much thing happened.. I can picture it all in my head like I’m watching movie. Savagery, violence and war. It’s so unpredictable and good.

There are still questions lingering in my head about the agnostic Raffe, about who he really is and what’s up with the “ANGEL POLITICS TURMOIL”  that’s happening in the story. But I’m glad some foreshadowing were present in the story.

I like Penryn, it’s been a long time since we have heard of a bad ass “human” character who can actually take down guys with built body like “the Rock” or Randy Orton. (so much for WWE), not to mention, a soldier guy.
( I hate you Boden!) haha but she is really bad ass. She can really fight. Thanks to her mom who forced her to learn martial arts and other self defense skills as a young girl. I like her calculative mind. I like the way she thinks.

I like Penryn’s mom too, even she’s mad, I like the mysteries that surrounds her. I have a theory about her but wouldn’t divulge it ’til I read the rest of the series because I might be wrong.

I really like this first book. And I hope the rest of the series will give justice to this wonderful book. Thanks Susan Ee , YOU’RE MY FAVORITE INDIE AUTHOR.

Now let me quote some of my favorite quotations in the book!  😀

I lower my voice, having forgotten to whisper. ‘You are nothing but a bird with an attitude. Okay so you have few muscles, I’ll grant you that. But you know a bird is nothing but a barely evolved lizard. That’s what you are.’

He chuckles. ‘Evolution.’ He leans over as if he’s telling me a secret. I’ll have you know that I’ve been this perfect since the beginning of time.’

PENRYN & RAFFE IS REALLY AN OTP ❤ AND FOR THE FEELS I HAVE NOW:

NO FOUND

LIKE SERIOUSLY. THE BEST.

STAR RATING: 5 STAR

Leave a Reply

