RUIN AND RISING

ruin-and-rising315.png
MY RATING: 4.5 STARS

 

TITLE: Ruin and Rising (The Grisha # 3)

AUTHOR: Leigh Bardugo

GENRES: Fantasy, Young Adult, Romance

FORMAT: Paperback

PUBLISHER: Square Fish

DATE READ:  October 29, 2015

 GOODREADS SYNOPSIS:

The capital has fallen.

The Darkling rules Ravka from his shadow throne.

Now the nation’s fate rests with a broken Sun Summoner, a disgraced tracker, and the shattered remnants of a once-great magical army.

Deep in an ancient network of tunnels and caverns, a weakened Alina must submit to the dubious protection of the Apparat and the zealots who worship her as a Saint. Yet her plans lie elsewhere, with the hunt for the elusive firebird and the hope that an outlaw prince still survives.

Alina will have to forge new alliances and put aside old rivalries as she and Mal race to find the last of Morozova’s amplifiers. But as she begins to unravel the Darkling’s secrets, she reveals a past that will forever alter her understanding of the bond they share and the power she wields. The firebird is the one thing that stands between Ravka and destruction—and claiming it could cost Alina the very future she’s fighting for.

 

MY REVIEW:

They had an ordinary life, full of ordinary things–if love can ever be called that.

 

Rating for whole The Grisha Trilogy: 4.5 stars

This  is the summary of my review for the whole trilogy

I really enjoyed Ruin and Rising as much as I enjoyed the first two books. It’s a great conclusion to The Grisha Trilogy. Would really recommend this trilogy to everyone who likes to read a YA high fantasy adventure genre.

Style of writing:

I love Leigh Bardugo so much and I adore her writing style. It’s so detailed and magical. I didn’t expect the twist and turn of events and Leigh did a stunning job in crafting her story to make it whole. The answers to each questions were slowly untangled ( but not in the way you expected it). The foreshadowing make sense and I found myself looking back and be reminded of the events that lead to each revelations. Which makes me love the series even more. I wept a lot and felt enthralled. The dialogues were interesting. I love all the Grishas and their own gifts. I love the The keftas, I love the setting and the theme of the story. I love all the unfamiliar and difficult to pronounce Ravkan or maybe Fjerdan words. And Leigh did a great job in making Ravka and it’s boundaries alive in our minds as if it really existed once upon a time. Ravka is alive and I am part of it. And I should thank her for the prequel story of The Darkling towards the end. And oh the maps are beautiful. I would really love to see the map of the new Ravka.

Plot:

The plot twists are well played in each part of the book. In Shadow and Bone, we have seen a glimpse of what this story may lead but once we have come to Siege and Storm, we’ll realize that it’s more than that. It much more complex. I didn’t see most of the revelations coming. I was astound. What I love about this trilogy is that it stayed true to its story. And with every parts, the story expands and become interesting. And each characters make impact to the story. I love the twists. I love the fact that I cannot expect anything because it’s so unpredictable. I love how the story picks up from one book to the next and how each knots untangle and how the events slowly build up and reveal unexpected but exquisite resolutions. Even this isn’t quite the ending I was expecting for this series, I’m sure, this is the kind of ending Alina wanted. This is how it should end. This is the way it should end.

Characters:

I love every characters in this trilogy. Everyone of them serve a certain purpose and you’ll find yourself appreciating everyone of them including the supporting characters because they were all written so well. Everyone has experienced pain and wounds that might take time to heal. But every scar they acquired was a mark of their great sacrifices and bravery. I could find myself related to all of them because all of them are broken in some ways. Leigh introduced us to characters which are not entirely perfect and that’s okay. Everyone is struggling. Everyone is fearful but they don’t let the fear consume them. Every character grew. Even you’re an Otkazat’sya or a Grisha, you can make a difference.

I like Alina as a protagonist. Even there are times she annoyed me. She has faced a lot and even if she know couldn’t bear the weight of the consequences of her decisions, she still made decisions for the good of everyone. Alina is like the representation of everyone of us. Isn’t it that in our life, we struggle to be on lighter or the darker side? We are challenged by the storms in our life to be strong and to never falter. And to make decision not just for ourselves but also for others. And I respect her decision of just leading an ordinary life after the war. It was all the life she’d ever dreamed of. To be ordinary, to be normal again and find happiness with the one she loved. She made great sacrifices for Ravka. And now, it’s time to give something for herself. But my heart ached for her when she was still trying to summon the light. Deep within her heart and every other Grishas, Alina will always be a part of them.

The Darkling is the representation of Baghra’s words;

“What is infinite? The universe and the greed of men.”

The Darkling is an unloved and a broken boy. He was always born to be a leader, to rule. If only he hadn’t been greedy. But to be honest, he’s the only villain whose (view spoiler)

Leigh Bardugo won in making it difficult for us to hate the Darkling. Even he is the Villain, even he had killed people, he was not so bad. That’s the point, the darkling wasn’t so bad! That’s why we cannot bring ourselves to hate him. If there is one person who had so much love for Ravka and the Grisha? It’s him. It’s the Darkling. He will always be (view spoiler) A boy’s name, given up. Almost forgotten.

If there is one thing I’m complaining about is that I wish the Darkling was more evil. Evil enough to hate him. To despise him. To fear him. But he is not.

I have to admit that I didn’t like Mal. But I never hated him. I never expected his fate. What he is and what he’s meant to do. But if there’s one thing I loved about Mal, is that he grew so much. Even he’s so annoying in S&B and S&S, in Ruin and Rising, he’s willing to make great sacrifices for the one he loved. He finally understood that to love someone is to be vulnerable. You don’t always have to end up with them but it can be still called love. Many will argue that he never deserved Alina. I feel you because I personally liked Nikolai for Alina. But even so, if there is one person who could understand Alina as a whole, who could see Alina in her most broken state and still love her, a boy who remembers everything, it’s Mal. And it’s with Mal that Alina feels safe and home.

Nikolai Lantsov will always have a special place in my heart. Even he is broken and suffered lots of insults being a bastard son, he still held his head up. He is brave, strategic and inquisitive. And his great sense of humor made me love him even more. I just hated the part in which he became a volcra lol. I just wish there’s more of Nikolai. I really wish Leigh will write a special story about Nikolai. I CANNOT JUST FORGET HIM. I love his character as much as I love the Darkling. ❤

Overall, this trilogy is one heck of a ride. I HAVE SO MUCH LOVE FOR THIS. This series is added to my favorite YA series. And it changed the way I view things. I’ve learned a lot from each of the characters loss, grief and pain. Life is an endless battle to fit in. Like the characters, we are never meant to fit in. We are born to stand out and make a difference. All it requires is a brave heart. But don’t be too greedy 🙂 Thank you Leigh Bardugo. This series will linger in me for a very long time.

“We didn’t quite fit together. We had edges so jagged we cut each other sometimes.”

(I’M GLAD I PICKED THIS BOOK UP AND ATTENDED LEIGH BARDUGO’S BOOK SIGNING. BECAUSE THIS TRILOGY IS REALLY BEYOND BEAUTIFUL.)

excited to read SIX OF CROWS.

Leave a Reply

