THE 5TH WAVE

 

16101128
MY RATING: 3 STARS

 

TITLE: The 5th Wave # 1

AUTHOR: Rick Yancey

GENRES: Young Adult, Science Fiction, Apocalyptic

FORMAT: Paperback

PUBLISHER: Speak

DATE READ: November 17, 2015

GOODREADS SYNOPSIS:

After the 1st wave, only darkness remains. After the 2nd, only the lucky escape. And after the 3rd, only the unlucky survive. After the 4th wave, only one rule applies: trust no one.

Now, it’s the dawn of the 5th wave, and on a lonely stretch of highway, Cassie runs from Them. The beings who only look human, who roam the countryside killing anyone they see. Who have scattered Earth’s last survivors. To stay alone is to stay alive, Cassie believes, until she meets Evan Walker. Beguiling and mysterious, Evan Walker may be Cassie’s only hope for rescuing her brother–or even saving herself. But Cassie must choose: between trust and despair, between defiance and surrender, between life and death. To give up or to get up.

 

MY REVIEW:

“His heart, the war. Her face, the battlefield.”

I’m not gonna lie, I had high expectation towards this book because of the so much hype that’s been going on around. When I’ve first read the plot of this book, I was so excited. Alien invasion? Apocalypse? This is going to be action-packed right? Whoa! Maybe the main character is gonna be bad ass! How are they gonna pull this off in a YA sci-fi book? I’m intrigued. But all the excitement died when I started to read it.

The beginning was a bit confusing but the middle part of the book is good and the ending… well… hmmm… ahm OKAY. That’s it? Where is “the bomb part of the book in which I’ll hug the book and shout GO GO GO! WOO!?” Well in that case I need to start Infinite Sea. Maybe it gets better. Maybe.

It wasn’t a bad book to begin with. I mean I have seen books which are undeniably badly written and this isn’t one of them. But I have read books too which are really well written. Enticing. Compelling. Page-turner. And this book is just an okay book for me. There are good stuff in it and bad stuff as well. It’s just that this book didn’t appeal to me or leave a good impression on me as much as I thought it would. In short, I did not like The 5th Wave that much.

PLOT:

I can’t classify this book a s great science fiction and this surely doesn’t offer much originality. But oh come one, most books these days are a bit alike in terms of the premise and yet they are still well executed. But The 5th wave didn’t do that for me. (why Rick Yancey! why!!! huhu) The idea of having waves to wipe out humanity is kind of good. I like the fact that the Others use this kind of alternative to slowly wipe us out. Step by step, slowly. BUT!

1ST WAVE is confusing.

2ND WAVE hoping this will this be better?

3RD WAVE ahm okay Virus. Well this is scary but quite obvious thing.

4th WAVE okay… Silencer? hmmm I think I’ve seen this type of thing in The Host but the only difference is that the silencers are consciousness inhabiting humans since they were young so they practically grow up together. So practically they are different consciousness acting as one.

5TH WAVE humans against humans hmm. getting young kids, putting them in a camp, mapping their brains, putting trackers in them, training them to kill the “aliens” but we will later discover that the ones they’ve been killing all along were humans.

Well that’s decent. But still wasn’t quite the “oh I did not see that coming.” “Oh this is so great.” “Oh a major plot twist” type I’ve been wanting to see.

Throughout this book, there were less action that happened. Mostly, the world has been slowly being introduced to us as well as the events coming through the narration of Cassie, Ben and a bit of Evan.

But that annoyed me much. It’s slow-paced and it got too draggy. There were so many unnecessary details, and some of Cassie’s monologue were annoying. Maybe it’s just me but I cannot really fully picture out the world of The 5th Wave. It wasn’t well executed to make us be engrossed inside the world. The foreshadowing didn’t work out well here.

To me, this book is PREDICTABLE. It wasn’t enough to keep me on the edge of my seat. I expected more.

CHARACTERS:

If there is one character that became my favorite one, it’s Ringer. Even we don’t much about her, her character is mysteriously interesting. Now she’s the real bad ass in this book. I want to get to know more on how she’d managed to know the truth behind Wonderland, the Camp Haven, and the plot the Others have been carrying out all along. She’s inquisitive. And I like her, I wish in the next book we can see more of her.

Cassie for Cassiopeia. Oh dear Cassie. You don’t know how much you annoyed me. I like SOME of her monologues. Especially this one;

“And if this is humanity’s last war, then I am the battlefield.”

But the more I go on with the book, the more she became annoying. I can’t connect with Cassie at all. She’s… boring. I think the author wanted to make her look tough but she has no depth. She is not as tough as her comeback words. Pfft! And her actions made me cringe. Yes ladies and gentlemen she did survived the 4 waves but that doesn’t make her kick ass at all.

Admit it, she survived because she was lucky and because her Dad was there. Throughout the book all she did was to run run run. And keep on showing us memories of irrelevant stuff such us wanting to kiss Ben Parish or even an aunt holding a cat.

Evan, is weird. (He’s the love interest right?) A guy who creeps in the door and volunteer to shampoo your hair even when he know it’s your leg that is injured and not your freakin’ arms? What the eff is that boy? Even he’s a nice guy but I can’t figure out his personality at all. He’s like a robot who just try to do anything for his master. Well I know (view spoiler)

Yes he vows that he do love Cassie. And that is whoa! Easy boy, you just met her. You just read her diary? You are no Warner. Warner read Juliette’s diary too but he’s been watching her for years and you Evan, only knew Cassie for a couple of days. Is falling in love that quick in the apocalypse? Like I said, to me, Evan is like a robot.

BUT! on the brighter side, I like him more than this Ben Parish. He has promise of growth if  he lives especially when he said this;

“I am a shark, Cassie,” he says slowly, drawing the words out, as if he might be speaking to me for the last time. Looking into my eyes with tears in his, as if he’s seeing me for the last time. “A shark who dreamed he was a man.”

I cringed a bit but it’s fine.

Ben, (Zombie) is boring. He thinks highly of himself but he is not interesting at all! Remember when he rat one of the soldiers to Commander Vosch because he feels like he’s going Dorothy. The eff Ben. Are you not thinking? Instead of finding out more about what he thinks, you rat him out which killed him. Stupid move. Ringer was the reason why he was able to get out of this “deception death camp.” He is not that strong enough to be called Commander. He has no depth too. If there’s one thing I like about him its that he came back for Sammy. That was big risk I’ll give you credit for that Ben. But I still don’t like you.

ROMANCE:

YEY! In YA it’s obvious to have romance in it. In some novels in worked out but here, wooo MASSIVE DISAPPOINTMENT. I feel like Mr. Yancey just put a bit of romance for the sake of satisfying the YA unwritten rule. But it didn’t worked out! it annoyed me so much.

“That’s my big problem. That’s it! Before the Arrival, guys like Evan Walker never looked twice at me, much less shot wild game for me and washed my hair. They never grabbed me by the back of the neck like the airbrushed model on his mother’s paperback, abs a-clenching, pecs a-popping. My eyes have never been looked deeply into, or my chin raised to bring my lips within an inch of theirs.”

Really Cassie?

Oh and and there is a threat of Alien invasion going on and Cassie can’t stop thinking how hot Ben Parish is. I think romance did not work out in this book. I wasn’t even happy about it. It wasn’t too cheesy but it’s annoyingly bland and dull.

WRITING STYLE:

The shifting of POV annoyed me much. It made me confused. I think this book will work out well if Mr. Yancey just narrated it himself. 3rd person POV. But I appreciate his effort on giving us different POV so that we can get to know the characters more. But it didn’t work out well. The characters were poorly written. They are not the type of characters I can connect with. And most dialogue left me inwardly cringing. pfft.

The whole story is insipid and tedious. No offense to the author but I did not like the unnecessary stuff included to break the ice;

“This could be it,” Lizbeth whispered. She rubbed her nose nervously. Dug her lacquered nails into her dyed blond hair. Tapped her foot. Rolled the pad of her finger over her eyelid: She had just started wearing contacts and they bugged her constantly.”

We don’t need to see that. We don’t care about that. It’s irrelevant in the story. And it’s not even funny.

This book is a LETDOWN to me. I’ve expected a lot and I was disappointed. In my opinion this can’t be the “next big thing” like what many said. It’s too trite and vapid.

This isn’t the worst book ever. And this is not that too bad to give it one star or two. That’s why I gave it three. Maybe this book will appeal some readers but not for me.

But I will still read THE INFINITE SEA. I wish it won’t be a wrong decision.

Leave a Reply

