NOVEMBER 9

n9cover.jpg
MY RATING: 4.5 STARS

 

TITLE: November 9

AUTHOR: Colleen Hoover

GENRES: New Adult, Romance, Contemporary

FORMAT: Paperback

PUBLISHER: Atria Books

DATE READ: November 19, 2015

GOODREADS SYNOPSIS:

Beloved #1 New York Times bestselling author Colleen Hoover returns with an unforgettable love story between a writer and his unexpected muse.

Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relationships and tribulations of their own separate lives, they continue to meet on the same date every year. Until one day Fallon becomes unsure if Ben has been telling her the truth or fabricating a perfect reality for the sake of the ultimate plot twist.

 

MY REVIEW:

She “loved me” in quotations. She kissed me in bold. I TRIED TO KEEP HER in all caps. She left with an ellipsis . . .—BENTON JAMES KESSLER.

“It’s November 19, but I’m still stuck on November 9. This book is my type of romance. BEAUTIFUL and UNFORGETTABLE”

People should not give up on this book too easy because there is so much going on in here. It may look like a simple boy-meets-girl romance novel at first, but it’s not. It has depth. And it has a lot to offer if you’ll give it a chance. And this is how romance book should be.

And this is Colleen Hoover guys! Expect the unexpected. And expect to cry either with joy or with grief.

CoHo’s books always give us immense amount of “FEELS.” There is always a plot twist. There is always an episode of sadness after the happy swooning moments.

And above all, some of her books hit you straight in the feels.

And this book did not disappoint. I loved it from cover to cover and I wish it was longer. If there was a foreshadowing she used to give us a hint on how this story will go, I definitely did not see it coming. It just came out as boom and slapped me in the face. There are no dull moments and the flow of the story is so good. I love how each events connects with each other and slowly unfold and you’ll find yourself looking back to contemplate. And you’ll appreciate that scene more than ever.

And I smiled a lot in every dialogue of Ben and Fallon. They have only hours together every November 9 but it feels like eternity. I’ve never felt that the time they are together were too short because Colleen hoover has managed to make the time period they are together appear longer in span. And even made the smallest gestures of the characters relevant to the point that we’ll appreciate every bits of it and won’t make us say “aww that’s kinda swift.”

I like many scenes in the book. But I cannot tell it all because it’s a lot ;p GO READ THE BOOK.!

(But I like the dress scene in which Ben undresses her and put on her the clothes)

And I love how the characters grow each November 9. And really time and experiences play a role in molding our characters to be mature people.

If there was a growth I exceptionally admire, it’s Fallon’s. She had overcome all her insecurities and Ben contributed a lot. She goes from a girl who’s just engrossed in her own flaws to a girl who’s confident and brave enough to try again. And her way of thinking also matured in time. Especially the 3rd November 9. Fallon said:

“The one thing I want more than anything is for the whole world to laugh at you, Ben.” I can hear the tears in her voice. “And they can’t do that if I don’t do for you what you did for me the day we met. You let me go. You encouraged me to go. And I want the same for you. I want you to follow your passion instead of your heart.”

This is good. Fallon is encouraging Ben to live his dream as much as he did to her even it would sacrifice them being together. Love is also learning how to sacrifice.

And I fall in love with Ben Kessler. Like seriously. I judge him too quickly and I disagreed on some of his reasoning before. I did not like that arse thing he did. Aside from burning the car of Fallon’s dad, getting together with Jordyn was a wrong move.

But he grew a lot in time and after learning everything, I looked back and understood where he’s coming from. He deserve a chance just like everyone else. It’s not him to blame. But the situation. Life is really tough.

“I think maybe she’ll realize how fucked up her priorities are, because she’s my passion. The book was just an excuse.”

This book taught me how to love selflessly. There are different kinds of love in this world, but nothing can top a selfless love.

And this by far is my favorite book of Colleen Hoover.

Leave a Reply

