SIX OF CROWS

Six-of-Crows
My Rating: 5 STARS

 

TITLE: Six of Crows # 1

AUTHOR : Leigh Bardugo

GENRES: Young Adult, Fantasy

FORMAT: Paperback

PUBLISHER: Henry Holt and Company

DATE READ: December 1, 2015

GOODREADS SYNOPSIS:

Ketterdam: a bustling hub of international trade where anything can be had for the right price—and no one knows that better than criminal prodigy Kaz Brekker. Kaz is offered a chance at a deadly heist that could make him rich beyond his wildest dreams. But he can’t pull it off alone…

A convict with a thirst for revenge.

A sharpshooter who can’t walk away from a wager.

A runaway with a privileged past.

A spy known as the Wraith.

A Heartrender using her magic to survive the slums.

A thief with a gift for unlikely escapes.

Kaz’s crew are the only ones who might stand between the world and destruction—if they don’t kill each other first.

MY REVIEW:

“No mourners. No funerals!”

"Page-turner and a fantastic spin-off."

Six of Crows. How can I rate you? This book is so deym good. The deadly-heist definitely put me at the edge of the seat. It’s dark, the world-building is so intricate and detailed. It is action-packed, fast-paced, the plot is so gripping and all the characters are bad ass, ruthless and vile sometimes but each are carefully written and has a heart-wrenching back story. And the third person narration worked out so well in this book.

PLOT:

This isn’t a job for trained soldiers and spies.It’s a job for thugs and thieves.

It is set in the Grisha world (2 years after the events in Ruin and Rising) in a place called Ketterdam which is the capital of the country Kerch. It is a bustling hub for international trade but also a home for illegal trades, criminal organizations and street gangs.

6 dangerous outcasts, led by Kaz Brekker, sailed in a cold northern country called Fjerda and attempt to break into a heavily guarded prison called the Ice court that has never been breached. They ought to smuggle out a scientist who made the jurda parem ( a dangerous-addictive drug that makes a Grisha , people born with magical talents, to break the limits of their power and increase it but in return it shortened their lives) and bring him to the Merchant Council in Ketterdam in exchange of 30 million kruge. It is a deadly heist that could cost their lives but make them rich if they successfully done it.

 

CHARACTERS:

Trickery is not my native tongue, but I may learn to speak it yet…

I like the fact that each characters learned and develop true meaning of friendship out of their necessity to survive. They never leave each other because they are a team and a crew and I think the money is just an excuse for them to do things but really, it is them, the people they trusted to be with in this mission, that made them do things.

Kaz Brekker is a criminal prodigy who mastered the art of thievery and has never been caught ever since which gained him popularity in the whole Ketterdam. He is the leader of the Dregs (gang) which is run by Per Haskell. He was ruthless sometimes but he has a horrible past that made him what he is now. He was offered a deadly heist by a Merchant Council member in exchange of big money. But he can’t do it alone. He is smart, inquisitive and his strategies amazed me. He is one heck of a plot twist. You cannot easily read what’s in his mind (also since it is narrated by a third person), but yea, he always has a back up plan. Even so we know he has a soft heart for Inej. Gee! I personally ship these two and I wish to see more of them in the second book. KANEJ all the way!

Inej Ghafa is a Suli girl who used to work as an acrobat in Ravka and was captured by slavers and sold to a pleasure house in Ketterdam. She was offered a contract by Kaz Brekker the next day after she told him that she could help him gain information about the pleasure house’s clients. She was then became the Wraith and spy for the dregs. She has this ability to sneak in places without being heard or noticed and she has mastered the art of using knives. I like her character because despite the fact that they are trained to do viscous things, she still have a good heart. She is religious haha and she wishes to go back in Ravka and sail to be a pirate who hunts slavers. We all know that she likes Kaz too oh gee.

“I will have you without armor, Kaz Brekker. Or I will not have you at all.”

Jesper Fahey is the sharpshooter for the Dregs. He originally came from Novyi Zem and went to Ketterdam to attend university but he became addicted in gambling which drown him in debt. He is one of my favorite characters. He is quirky and funny. Even though he is a bit talkative which made Pekka Rollins, leader of another gang, to know that they will leave the country for a mission, I still like him. And moreover, not in my entire reading ever suspected him as a Fabrikator. I didn’t see that coming and there was no foreshadowing. At all. I like his interactions with Wylan. And I know Leigh can make this ship happen like in Ruin Rising there is lesbian ship that came true.

Nina Zenik  is a Second Army Grisha Corporalink Heartrender from Ravka. She escaped lessons and went to Wandering Isle to go on a actual mission which is why she was caught by <i>druskelle,</i> Fjerdans who hunts Grishas. She came to Ketterdam after her long journey with Matthias Helvar, a druskelle. After many twists and turns, she worked for the Dregs in the House of the White Rose. I like Nina though I doubt her intentions at times. I like the fact that she is from Ravka, the country I’ve grown to love and when she mentions things about Ravka, it makes me jump out of joy 😀 And the sacrifice she made towards the end really made me want to hug her. And I ship him with Matthias.

Matthias Helvar  is a Fjerdan druskelle who is a witchhunter who captured Nina when she was in the wandering isle. He grown affection for Nina while they were travelling together but then grew hatred towards her after she ousted him and told the Kerch that he is a slave trader which made him a prisoner in the hellgate. He vowed to seek revenge for Nina but at the same time has a soft heart for her and he often dreamed about her. I admit I didn’t like Matthias not until I’ve reached the end part wherein he discovered every viscous thing the druskelle is planning and the whole Fjerda. It made me hard to trust him but I trust his affection for Nina. And he’ll be a great friend to Kaz. Their interactions were so funny.

Wylan Van Eck  is the son of Jan Van Eck, the one who recruited Kaz for the mission, and a runaway who now works for the Dregs. He is a gifted artist. Kaz took him to be a part of the mission to use him as a hostage in order for Jan Van Eck to keep his word. But we have learned in the end that his father did not love him because he cannot read and write. He takes pride of his knowledge and claimed that he’ll never become criminals like them.Throughout their journey, despite the whole lot of bickering and complaining, he finally cooperated and became on of them. And yes I ship him with Jesper.

HANDS-DOWN. ALL CHARACTERS ARE MY FAVORITE.
Style of Writing:

Leigh provided us 5 perspectives for each characters narrated by a 3rd person perspective. At first I was scared because the number of perspective overwhelms me but it definitely paid off and because of this, I’ve grown to love the characters more. All of them were written so carefully and with so much love and affection that’s why each of them have a special place in my heart. The plot is so exciting and I like the fact that there is always interesting dialogues and action-packed. There isn’t so much plot-twist here, though I’ve predicted some of the events, it is still a fantastic-worthwhile read. I was excited to know how each things will unfold and how to get there in the actual goal. I feel like I was really inside the book throughout and I feel like I’m one of the crew haha. 😀

To Leigh Bardugo, you never disappoint me. You always impress me and surprise me. You are such an inspiration. Because of you I am inspired to write a fantasy novel too with a deadly heist like this. I’m excited for the second book. Please make this a trilogy 😀

Leave a Reply

