THE ROSE SOCIETY

 

23846013
MY RATING: 4 STARS

 

TITLE: The Rose Society (The Young Elites # 2)

AUTHOR: Marie Lu

GENRES: Young Adult, Fantasy

FORMAT: Hardcover

PUBLISHER: G.P. Putnam’s Sons Books for Young Readers

DATE READ: December 7, 2015

GOODREADS SYNOPSIS::

Once upon a time, a girl had a father, a prince, a society of friends. Then they betrayed her, and she destroyed them all.

Adelina Amouteru’s heart has suffered at the hands of both family and friends, turning her down the bitter path of revenge. Now known and feared as the White Wolf, she flees Kenettra with her sister to find other Young Elites in the hopes of building her own army of allies. Her goal: to strike down the Inquisition Axis, the white-cloaked soldiers who nearly killed her.

But Adelina is no heroine. Her powers, fed only by fear and hate, have started to grow beyond her control. She does not trust her newfound Elite friends. Teren Santoro, leader of the Inquisition, wants her dead. And her former friends, Raffaele and the Dagger Society, want to stop her thirst for vengeance. Adelina struggles to cling to the good within her. But how can someone be good when her very existence depends on darkness?

Bestselling author Marie Lu delivers another heart-pounding adventure in this exhilarating sequel to The Young Elites.

 

MY REVIEW:

“In the silence, I sit alone on my throne and wait eagerly for all the satisfaction and triumph to hit me. I wait, and wait, and wait. But it doesn’t come.”

It is by far the strongest book in terms of the height of emotions it gave me. I wasn’t that engrossed in the beginning, but the last few pages were so intense, powerful and dark. I like how each events slowly unravel into something so unexpectedly compelling. MARIE LU IS REALLY THE QUEEN OF FEELS!

The twist and revelation in the end established a strong plot for this series that would make us readers excited for the third installment. Is this really a trilogy? I feel like it should be 5 books! And I WANT MORE. I WISH THIS BOOK WAS LONGER. I WANT MORE.

Adelina has reached the highest potential of her power and even Adelina herself was overwhelmed by it. I thought Adelina was like an evil whinny girl who always say “I am strong, I can destroy you” but really can’t. At first, I really couldn’t feel her and the weight of her power. But man! I was surprised how strong she had become. There were tears in my eyes while I was reading the last few pages because it was so heartbreaking and it haunted me.

I was terrified with Adelina but at the same time proud of her darkness lol. It made me think about the Darkling in The Grisha Trilogy by Leigh Bardugo. I wish he was around to witness all these pouring darkness.

But I also feel sad for our White Wolf. Her abilities and powers have this capacity to either make her or destroy her.

They say “he who wears the crown must bear its weight.” And I can feel all the weight in her. It’s so heavy that she might break and fall and no one would catch her. Her scene with Violetta towards the end gave me goosebumps and made my heart pound, it was really fervent.

I wish, Magiano will be there for our White Wolf. I really like him. Especially with the part that Violetta told Adelina that Magiano guards outside Adelina’s door in case she has another nightmare or illusion. He loves her and care for her and the treasury in the palace is just an excuse. I think he can light up our dark little wolf. He is in line with the gods of joy and he is the suitable man for Adelina. I wish Adelina won’t destroy him too because of greed. I ship them. Please do realize it gurl!

Enzo, Raffaele and the rest, I’m curious what’s gonna happen to them and the Beldish throne. I personally don’t like Enzo for Adelina. Even they are tethered to each other, I cannot really feel any chemistry between them. Too much impossibility with them. Too much darkness and death. I can’t see my ship sailing for them.

I have one problem, I feel like The Rose Society of Elites was easily formed. I felt like Adelina didn’t travel much in Merroutas. She met Magiano then Sergio. It’s like she just killed the Night King but then poof. Her name is all around places. I know he’s the most powerful man there but still I wish Adelina made acquaintances there and left an impression. Like you know, like in V for Vendetta, V’s name is all over the place because he was leaving a mark of his existence. I feel like it’s rushed. I feel like that scene in Sealands/Merroutas needed to be expounded more. Nevertheless, things worked out perfectly well.

There is also a moral that can be taken from this book which made it so good. Let me quote this passage:

“Now are you happy? Have you finally achieved all you set out to do? What will you do next little assassin, with no one left to see you?” – One Thousand Journeys of Al Akhar, various authors

Hatred brings harm to a heart so we shouldn’t harbor it inside us. Revenge will only give you a prompt and temporary victory after you have succeeded. But you are never really victorious. Because in the end, you are not going to be happy and you are left alone sitting in your throne with nobody to care for you around you because you have already lost them in the process. You didn’t lose. But you didn’t win.

This book is really good and I really admire Marie Lu’s writing style. She can build a world so well and I can see it clear in my head. Her stories can move one’s heart while giving us lessons through her characters. I trust Marie Lu that there is a beautiful miracle that does going to happen in the third book. That beyond this darkness, there will be light and calmness in the midst of the chaos. Thank you Marie Lu

 

Leave a Reply

