A COURT OF THORNS AND ROSES

16096824-309x475.jpg
MY RATING: 4 STARS

 

TITLE: A Court of Thorns and Roses # 1

AUTHOR: Sarah J. Maas

GENRES: Fantasy, Young Adult, Romance

FORMAT: Paperback

PUBLISHER: Bloomsburry

DATE READ: December 11, 2015

GOODREADS SYNOPSIS:

A thrilling, seductive new series from New York Timesbestselling author Sarah J. Maas,

blending Beauty and the Beast with faerie lore.

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she’s been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it… or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.

Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and George R. R. Martin, this first book in a sexy and action-packed new series is impossible to put down!

 

MY REVIEW:

I love you,’ he whispered, and kissed my brow. ‘Thorns and all.

4 HOLY CAULDRON STARS (with spoilers)

I DEMAND A COURT OF MIST AND FURY! RIGHT NOW. I love how this bookhas a fairy tale touch with a deep-rooted allegiance to true love. The romance was beautiful in this story and gives us readers a satisfying-heart warming pleasure. The plot intensified each chapter despite being slow-paced.

I cannot exactly come up with what’s going to happen on the next book. Because as each answers were unravel in this book, more questions of “how” and “what” arise toward the end. This is the first book I’ve read which is set in a Fairy or Faerie Realms. And it was a fun read, I feel like I was taken to a whole new different world. Wasn’t really that enticed in the beginning but I was as I go on.

This story of a human huntress Feyre being held captive inside the Spring Court in the Faerie land reminds me so much with Beauty and the Beast. And Tamlin… Tamlin is the awesome beast, who.. doesn’t look like or isn’t a beast… who is a High Fae… who is one of the High Lords of the seven court… who protected Feyre in the best way he can… and who loved Feyre, thorns and all… And he was… undeniably… sexy. Oh my Cauldron, bless my thoughts.

and When he told Feyre:

You look better than before… and your hair is… CLEAN”

I LITERALLY LAUGHED AT HIS CUTENESS LOL.

Feyre is a badass character. She was totally human with no secret hidden birth power with her and yet she has managed to slay and survived the Faerie realms. From killing a sentinel, killing two Nagas, trapping a Suriel and even surviving the terror of powerful lord/Queen of the damned! And even outsmarted and surpassed the tasks given to her. She was so determined. And I admire her strong will. But I admit I cringe and curse a bit for her snippet of stupidity and absurdity in some circumstances. But I really like Feyre. She’s flawed like every human being but cling into hope and trust the strength her love can take her.

Rhysand is a mysterious character to me. He has this remnants of his power of being able to control ones mind and that is scary and powerful once he get back all his power altogether. He is the High Lord of the Night Court. I can tell by the end of the book that he imprinted on Feyre as his mate but i don’t know whether to ship them or not. I am hesistant because we know so little about his past and his true intention. But we all know he is… as … sexy… as Tamlin… but in a hauntingly-dark way.

Lucien is one of the characters that gave glow to this book. His humor and arrogance towards Feyre in the beginning of the book gave me laughs. But he became a true friend to Feyre who wanted nothing but to save her. Despite his horrifying past, he shines.

“I love him with a fierceness that swept up my whole heart. Because when he had widened his eyes, I’d known he still loves me.”

I like the scene wherein Tamlin showed Feyre the starlight-like lake and when they swim there and when he removed all the glamour and showed Feyre everything and let her hear everything.

I like also the part where Feyre showed Tamlin her paintings and the story of her life and when Tamlin told her that being with Feyre made him feel like “He wasn’t alone”

I like their kiss before the dawn at the Summer Solstice party.

I like when Tamlin showed Feyre his mom’s garden and when Feyre’s hand was hurt by the thorns of the roses and how Tamlin gave it a kiss and healed the wound away and when he put flowers on her ear 🙂

I loved their lovemaking and Tamlin’s confession.

Her first task of hunting the worm was so enjoyable and gripping but at the same time gross because of what Feyre has been through. But she showed bravery and inquisitive in that. My initial reaction when Amarantha said “Anyone could do that!” I was like “beatch you cant.You just can’t and with your power stripped down, you are nothing and you cannot even lift a sack of rice.”

I like also the last part in which she figured out Amarantha’s scheme and how she looked back on Alis advice to listen and how she remembered all those times that Tamlin let her listen. Let her eavesdrop. Because even Tamlin knew that one day, it would be helpful that Feyre knows. Because Feyre listened. And when she stabbed Tamlin’s heart… I almost cried because even she knows he has a heart of stone, it’s still Tamlin’s heart that she stabbed.

And when she figured out the answer to the riddle. BOOM. The riddle was quote easy to begin with… It’s just Feyre never expected it to be so simple.

Maybe the reason why I can’t give it a five star because Feyre became a high Fae? No maybe. But not that. But seriously I didn’t see that coming. Now I’m intrigued on how will she adjust on her new life.

Maybe because Amarantha, died too quick after she solved the riddle? No. Maybe if Feyre figured out too early, if she contemplated enough, if in those months she’d been in the Spring Court, she learned how to read… I don’t know.. but Feyre was a hero.

And the reason I couldn’t give it a five star because I still have lots of questions waiting to be answered. If there was a foreshadowing, I still can’t predict where this book is going, I have many theories but I don’t know how to put them into words.

Rhysand is one of the characters I’m anticipating. So mysteriously intriguing I can’t ship him with Feyre yet, if he’s to become the love interest like Daemon and Elena. Because Feyre have risked a lot for Tamlin and Tamlin too. I don’t want those to went for naught.

Overall I really enjoyed this book and I really will going to read the sequel and I AM EXCITE! Thank you Sarah J. Maas

“ Be glad on your human heart Feyre. Pity those who don’t feel anything at all.”

Leave a Reply

