THE INFINITE SEA

rick_yancey_infinite_sea_fifth_wave_0021.jinpg
My Rating: 2.5 STARS

 

TITLE: The Infinite Sea (The 5th Wave # 2)

AUTHOR: Rick Yancey

GENRES: Young Adult, Science Fiction

FORMAT: Paperback

PUBLISHER: Speak

DATE READ: December 31, 2015

GOODREADS SYNOPSIS:

How do you rid the Earth of seven billion humans? Rid the humans of their humanity.

Surviving the first four waves was nearly impossible. Now Cassie Sullivan finds herself in a new world, a world in which the fundamental trust that binds us together is gone. As the 5th Wave rolls across the landscape, Cassie, Ben, and Ringer are forced to confront the Others’ ultimate goal: the extermination of the human race.

Cassie and her friends haven’t seen the depths to which the Others will sink, nor have the Others seen the heights to which humanity will rise, in the ultimate battle between life and death, hope and despair, love and hate.

 

MY REVIEW:

“Ha-ha. The dumb jock who can’t talk the Queen’s English. I swear to God, the next person who corrects my grammar gets punched in the face.”

WHUUT?

This is an unpopular opinion. I was really anticipating The Infinite Sea because I didn’t like The 5th Wave. Pretty ironic? Yes. I was anticipating to read this because I wanted to see if there would be improvements with the characters, the plot, the narration, etc. I am the type of reader who doesn’t give up on books. I do not DNF books because I want to see how each story will go and end.

hh

But this time, I was annoyed because this book is soooo hyped.

I’m going to keep things short. This was a decent book. No offense toward RY but it didn’t work out for me well. The story was hard for me to get into. I felt like it was kind of dragged and there were many unnecessary things that the author should have omitted.

Cassie annoyed me so much especially when she was bitching towards Evan. On one point she hated Evan, and then next he doesn’t want him to stay behind.

wha

And the romance? I didn’t feel any chemistry between the characters, the romance did not click. And there wasn’t a single character that I liked in this book. I found the points of view annoying. It was slow placed and it took so many pages to do absolutely nothing. Nothing much happened each chapter and it bugged me a lot.

Though on the high note, the revelation toward the end was pretty interesting, I still couldn’t praise this book so much to compensate for the draggy and nonsense moments in the beginning.

The style of writing was not impressive. The fight scenes were a blur. The world building is isn’t vivid. The characters’ interactions made me cringe and made me want to throw my book. (but no I didn’t)


I felt like the author dragged the story so much so that there would be events to happen in book three. So much that it annoyed me. Because I wanted more to happen, I was expecting a lot in this book but this is what I get. Only a collection of crappy moments and only a glimpse of the real highlight and revelation of this book and also an effin’ infuriating cliffhanger.

My patience is dissipating. I don’t know if I will read The Last Star. But I still wanna know what’s going to happen. Even I’m not sure where this book is going. *sobs*

creys.gif

But yea I still want to know what will happen with the last book. So, I’ll probably read it still. BUT… will I regret it?

 

3 thoughts on “THE INFINITE SEA

  1. Great review 🙂 I kind of want to start reading this series, I did skim through the first book but on the other hand I really want to watch the movie without knowing what’s gonna happen.

    Like

    • Great 🙂 You should really try to read it still. Maybe it didn’t work for me but it might to you. Me too, I really want to see the movie. Let me know if you’ve watched the movie already 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

