[Top Ten Tuesday] TOP TEN AMAZING DEBUT NOVELS

TOP TEN TUESDAY

This segment of my blog contains my weekly Top 10 picks of anything related to books/reading. This is inspired by The Broke and the Bookish blog. I would also love to see your top 10 list in the comments below or you can link your blog so I could see it too and we could “spazz” (react/discuss/fangirl) it together. Thank you bookish peeps. ~Serene August

Text-Divider

Hi bookish peeps! I have been busy this past few days because of crazy school projects to pass. Graduation is just around the corner so we are all bombarded with loads of school works. I figure out that the close you get to your goal, the more things get tough 😀

Now let’s move on to my TTT picks. We have read a handful of amazing books in which we never thought that they were a debut novel of an author since the story was uniquely crafted and really astounding. I found myself surprised to know that a certain book I was reading was none other than a debut book. It is sometimes tricky to read a debut novel since you have no basis for the style of writing of the author. But it’s an exciting experience that is worth the risk because we get to discover new amazing authors whose works we’ll surely anticipate in the future.

So for this week’s Top Ten Tuesday, I would love to share with you guys my pick for the Top 10 Amazing Debut Novels of various authors.   Let’s start! 🙂

Text-Divider

10.

atbp.jpg
PUBLISHED: JAN. 6, 2015

ALL THE BRIGHT PLACES by Jennifer Niven

 

To be honest the reason I picked up this book is because of the marketing strategy used that it is The Fault in Our Stars meets Eleanor and Park. Of course I was skeptical with that blurb but decided to read it. And I’m glad it did not disappoint. The characters were easy to relate to and I fell in love with Theodore Finch. The characters were unique individuals that you’ll learn to love because of their depth and the growth they offer as the story goes on. This book, made me feel good about myself. It made me realize that not everything you see is the way it is in reality. There is more than meets the eye. A person may appear smiling but suffering on the inside. Nevertheless, this book showed me how wonderful it is to live, that we are all beautiful individuals.

“You make me lovely, and it’s so lovely to be lovely to the one I love.…”

Text-Divider

9.

ShadowAndBone.jpg
PUBLISHED: June 5, 2012

SHADOW AND BONE by Leigh Bardugo

Whenever we think of fantasy novels it is usually set in a fictitious world of Medieval Europe. What made Shadow and Bone stand out is that the setting is quite unique. It is set in a fictional world based on the old Tsarist Russia. Leigh Bardugo has introduced us to a country called Ravka which is surrounded by other countries with different old Russian dialects. This is quite a dark fantasy since it consists of powers, shadows and conspiracies. It doesn’t have a peaceful world and everyone is on a verge of war with each other. The characters were Grisha or humans who practice small science. In short they can summon and alter different elements of the natural world based on their ability and order. The country Ravka, relies on Grisha for safety against its enemies. The Grishaverse is one of the the most engrossing book universe out there.

“The problem with wanting,” he whispered, his mouth trailing along my jaw until it hovered over my lips, “is that it makes us weak.”

Text-Divider

8.

di.jpg
PUBLISHED: April 25, 2011

 DIVERGENT by Veronica Roth

This book made me love young adult fiction with dystopian plots. The story line is easy to get into and you’ll surely find yourself on the edge of your seat while rooting for Tris ’til the end. I like how the plot reflects what’s real in today’s society. We are divided and judged based on our skills and what we can offer. We always struggle to know where we fit in and we usually found ourselves fitting into not just one category. I guess we aren’t really born to fit in, just like Tris, we are born to stand out. #WeAreDivergent .  Tris is one of the characters whose POV I enjoyed. She’s undeniably brave and relatable. Just like us, the situation made her to make difficult choices that can change her life forever. After reading this, you’ll find yourself shipping #FourTris all the way.

“Becoming fearless isn’t the point. That’s impossible. It’s learning how to control your fear, and how to be free from it.”

Text-Divider

7.

kite.jpg
PUBLISHED: May 29, 2003

THE KITE RUNNER by Khaled Hosseini

There was a time in which I decided to have a break in reading YA novels and I’ve randomly seen this on a bookstore. I don’t know much about Khaled and I’ve never heard of Kite Runner before since I’m always on the YA stuff. I decided to pick it up because the plot seems so unique and fresh. I never thought that it would be the best decision ever. The story was truly unforgettable and it would really take you to another world. This book opened my eyes to embrace new perspective and it taught me the painful truth; it’s easy to ask forgiveness and it’s easy to forgive. But the scar it caused will always be there, hidden but never gone.  I’ve learned a lot and I felt the pain of the characters and wept with them. I felt like this book inspired me to strive for a genuine goodness.

 

“There is only one sin. and that is theft… when you tell a lie, you steal someones right to the truth.”

Text-Divider

6.

cinder-book-cover.jpg
PUBLISHED: Jan. 3, 2012

CINDER by Marissa Meyer

This is absolutely a stunning debut that’s on the favorite list of many of us. It is by far the best fairy tale retellings I’ve read. I didn’t mean just Cinder, but I’m pertaining to the Lunar Chronicles series as a whole. When you read the plot, you’ll think it’s a common one. But once you start to read it, you’ll realize that it offers something more. It’s really a beautiful blend of modernize fairy tale with a touch of futuristic sci-fi. Here on Cinder, humans and cyborgs co-exist. And there were evil forces in the Moon who’s willing to do what it takes to gain control over the Earth. Cinder is one of the bad ass heroines out there. Her resourcefulness is beyond compare. When you read this, you’ll surely fall in love with the story and all the characters. The story showed us that despite everything, everyone deserves a happily ever after.

“Vanity is a factor, but it is more a question of control. It is easier to trick others into perceiving you as beautiful if you can convince yourself you are beautiful. But mirrors have an uncanny way of telling the truth.”

Text-Divider

5.

wu
PUBLISHED: December 1847

WUTHERING HEIGHTS by Emily Bronte

One of the most controversial, passionate and intense love stories out there. This is one of my favorite classic reads next to Pride and Prejudice. What made me read this is because I always see this as a reference on many YA books. I mean, I usually see this mentioned on a certain book as the characters’ favorite book or whatsoever. Some love stories are sometimes compared to Heathcliff and Catherine Earnshaw’s deep romance – solitary and impossible to achieve and comprehend. What I love about this book is that it is set into a world of wilderness. A world where people are imperfect, evil, isolated and lonely. The characters of this book were not perfect individuals. This book showed us that we are not born bad and that there are some things that drive a person to be evil or to be what he is now. This is often considered as a dark novel with complex and complicated individuals. They are utterly unlikable but you’ll still like them at least. This is Emily Bronte’s only novel but even up to know, it is one of the best.

“He’s more myself than I am. Whatever our souls are made of, his and mine are the same.”

Text-Divider

4.

red_queen_book_cover_a_p.jpg
PUBLISHED: Feb. 10, 2015

RED QUEEN by Victoria Aveyard

I admit I picked up this book because of the hype but I’m glad I’m not one of those who ended up disappointed with the turn of events of this book. Some of my friends told me that they didn’t enjoy the book because it was predictable. But it’s different on my case because this book really enticed me and I invested my time in it so that I could really appreciate how well it was written. There were lots of plot twists on this book that I didn’t see coming. What made me like this book is the fact that the story slowly builds up a mouse trap waiting for us to step on it. Yes I did step on that mouse trap and the twists really smashed me. I wonder if there’s any room for plot twists in Glass Sword. They said that this book’s premise basis is like Pierce Brown’s Red Rising, but I haven’t read that one so I can’t really make a comment on that. Nevertheless I enjoyed this book more than I thought it would and Mare Barrow is a character that I want to have a cup of coffee with. I’m not a fan of the romance but the story is eventful. This is good for a debut book.

“The truth is what I make it. I could set this world on fire and call it rain.”

Text-Divider

3.

ha
PUBLISHED: June 26, 1997

HARRY POTTER AND THE SORCERER’S STONE by J.K Rowling

Harry Potter’s story is indeed the childhood of most of us. This book has by far the best movie adaptation as well. We all know the story behind J.K Rowling’s pursuits before this book had the chance to be published. She had been through a lot because before the stories about witchcraft and wizardry is not that popular in the masses. But thank goodness this book existed in our lives because it has truly made our childhood magical. It made us want to be students of Hogwarts as well. Well I would love to be in Ravenclaw. Which house do you want to be in?

 

 

“It takes a great deal of bravery to stand up to our enemies, but just as much to stand up to our friends.”

Text-Divider

2.

bookie.jpg
PUBLISHED: 2005

THE BOOK THIEF by Markus Zusak

This book is  tragically beautiful. It’s poignant tale narrated by Death and it was set in Nazi Germany during World War II. I just love reading historical fiction and what made this easy to love is Liesel and her love for learning and books. It is the story of a young German girl who comes of age during one of the most horrific times in recent history. Here then, she met compassionate and loving foster parents who loved her as their own and taught her valuable lessons in life. This books left me haunted because it has left a great impact in my life. My heart still ache when I remember the events of this book. And Rudy, will always have a special place in my heart.

 

 

“Like most misery, it started with apparent happiness.”

Text-Divider

1.

tokill.jpg
PUBLISHED: July 11, 1960

TO KILL A MOCKINGBIRD by Harper Lee

This ranked first on my top 10 amazing debut novels. I read this book because it’s a requirement in our english class and I never knew that I’ll love it so much. All characters made a significant impact in my life. Atticus Finch’s struggles were really heart wrenching. I’m so happy when Harper Lee when she released a sequel for this phenomenal book. But the happiness was immediately replaced by tears when she passed away recently. Nevetheless, she has become one of the authors who made a remarkable story that contains a significant moral lessons. Rest in Peace Harper Lee. You’ll always be remembered.

“You never really understand a person until you consider things from his point of view… Until you climb inside of his skin and walk around in it.”

Text-Divider

So that’s all for today bookish peeps. Let me know in the comments below your own top 10 debut novels pick.

See you next week. Thank you 🙂

louisse

Leave a Reply

