Book Review:| GLASS SWORD by Victoria Aveyard

g
3.5 stars

 

TITLE: Glass Sword (Red Queen # 2)

AUTHOR: Victoria Aveyard

GENRES: Young Adult, Fantasy

PUBLISHER: Harper Teen

FORMAT: Paperback

DATE READ: March 9, 2016

GOODREADS SYNOPSIS:

If there’s one thing Mare Barrow knows, it’s that she’s different.

Mare Barrow’s blood is red—the color of common folk—but her Silver ability, the power to control lightning, has turned her into a weapon that the royal court tries to control.

The crown calls her an impossibility, a fake, but as she makes her escape from Maven, the prince—the friend—who betrayed her, Mare uncovers something startling: she is not the only one of her kind.

Pursued by Maven, now a vindictive king, Mare sets out to find and recruit other Red-and-Silver fighters to join in the struggle against her oppressors.

But Mare finds herself on a deadly path, at risk of becoming exactly the kind of monster she is trying to defeat.

Will she shatter under the weight of the lives that are the cost of rebellion? Or have treachery and betrayal hardened her forever?

The electrifying next installment in the Red Queen series escalates the struggle between the growing rebel army and the blood-segregated world they’ve always known—and pits Mare against the darkness that has grown in her soul.

Text-Divider

 

MY REVIEW: 

REALLY. JUST REALLY. THE ENDING SMASHED ME. WTF IS GOING ON MARE BARROW? AFTER EVERYTHING YOU’VE ALL BEEN THROUGH?

No heart can ever be truly understood. Not even your own

Note: I apologize for a messy review, I am feeling sick today but still tried to make a review for this. I’m also a bit sad that I finished it just now, after attending Victoria Aveyard’s book signing last Sunday. Now I really want to ask her lots of questions. Especially about Farley. But it’s too late.

Sequel of Red Queen that picked up to right where it left off. An Intense, brutal and cruel installment with lots of action scenes. It’s a story of bravery and sacrifice with a gentle reminder that ANYONE CAN BETRAY ANYONE. The title of this book should have been Cruel Sword. Because literally, it has been cruel to the characters and to their fates. This book was eventful that will take your emotions to height but… things will unfold not the way you expected it to be.

To be honest, I didn’t love this sequel as much as I loved Red Queen but it wasn’t a bad one. I just expected more and I was a little frustrated with Mare in this book. I have some issues about it that I want to tackle. This won’t be all negative, this will be a combination of both positive and negative things I want to discuss.

*SPOILERS ALERT*

1. SHADES DEATH. I know someone will die or someone has to die. Isn’t it the most obvious trigger each character have so that they would gain more courage to go on? But I didn’t expect it to be Shade. And one thing that annoyed me the most is that his death was too quick as in poof. On one snap, he’s nothing and lifeless. But I understood that it also reflected real life. We die instant and no one is ever prepared of it. But… Shade is one of my favorite characters. So I can’t see the reason why it has to be him. 3

2. The Newbloods’ abilities. I must say I was impressed. Some abilities I have seen in other stories but I didn’t mind. I’m more up to what those abilities could offer in the mission of Mare. And I loved how inquisitive they’ve handled the prison break. But that’s not enough to keep everyone alive. There is always going to be someone who’ll be sacrificed for the cause.

3. Maven. I am torn between liking him or hating him. He is like the Darkling in the Grisha Trilogy. I suspect, since Victoria Aveyard said that she’s team Maven during her book signing, I think Maven has the chance of becoming like Warner too, from Shatter Me series.

4. Even Mare annoyed the colors out of me most of the book, I started to like her toward the end. The decision she have taken not to be a puppet or a stage image of those allies of the Scarlet Guard was an impressive move. She started to weigh things more than we ever imagined. Maybe it’s the result of too much death going on because of her. She knows she can’t save everyone but she gotta be strong and take the lead. She started to come out of her senses.

5. Elara of House Merandus, Queen of Norta. A scary silver in Red Queen, suddenly died like that. If I have issues in this book it would have to be the deaths are too quick and easy to happen. Shade easily died, Elara easily died. In here, gone is the scary strong Queen. She looked ordinary and vulnerable here. She wasn’t just scary and powerful-like anymore. Or was she ever?

6. What happened in Corros hits me right in the gut. My heart sting and I found myself tearing up how right Cal was in those moments he was trying to lecture Mare.

Everyone has lost someone. Not just her. Even she is the main character in the story, the world doesn’t revolve around her. I like how Cal made her realized that.

7. And there was one moment in which, I felt the same as Mare. Most people’s actions are often misunderstood into something else. Some of us are not good in expressing our real feelings of how to express the agony we have inside.

“There is no possible defense to such accusation. How can I prove him wrong? How can I make him see what I’ve done, wha I’m trying to do, what I’ve become to keep everyone I care about safe! How badly I’ve failed. How terrible I feel. How the scars and memories ache. How deeply he’s wounded me with such words. I cannot prove my love for him or Kilorn or my family. I cannot put such feelings into words, nor should I have to.

8. I don’t ship Mare with anyone. FOR NOW.

9. MAPS. I DEMAND MAPS FOR THIS BOOK. They have traveled in different places and I want to see it in a map. I wish the third book will have one.

10. My emotions are at mess after reading this. Because the end. WAS. INDEED. A. CLIFFHANGER.

 

raw.gif

All in all this book was okay. But it wasn’t as strong as Red Queen. I like how there were twists and turns that the readers would anticipate on the third book. Maybe when I’ve finished this, I wasn’t really in the mood maybe that’s why this didn’t receive all my praise. But I still love Victoria Aveyard 🙂

6257352668d20e66dfdc50c77e2bed3b.jpg

 

MY STAR RATING: 3.5 STAR.png

Check out my RED QUEEN REVIEW:

red_queen_book_cover_a_p

Text-Divider

That’s all for today. See you next time bookish peeps ❤

REVIEW ALSO AVAILABLE ON GOODREADS:

FOLLOW ME ON

Follow Serene August's Goodreads Reviews.png

 

INSTAGRAM.png

louisse

 

 

Leave a Reply

