BOOK REVIEW : PASSENGER by Alexandra Bracken

 

pass.png

BANNER YA FANTASY

A perfect blend of all the elements you’re looking for in a book. I highly recommend it to anyone who is a fan of time travelling and savvy sailors.

for book quotes.png

passenger by alex bracken.jpg

 

TITLE: Passenger (Passenger # 1)
AUTHOR: Alexandra Bracken
GENRE: Young Adult, Fantasy, Sci Fi, Time Travel
FORMAT: Hardcover
PUBLISHER: Disney-Hyperion
DATE READ: April 29, 2016

 

GRADD

4

GOODREADS SYNOPSIS:

Passage, n.
i. A brief section of music composed of a series of notes and flourishes.
ii. A journey by water; a voyage.
iii. The transition from one place to another, across space and time.

In one devastating night, violin prodigy Etta Spencer loses everything she knows and loves. Thrust into an unfamiliar world by a stranger with a dangerous agenda, Etta is certain of only one thing: she has traveled not just miles but years from home. And she’s inherited a legacy she knows nothing about from a family whose existence she’s never heard of. Until now.

Nicholas Carter is content with his life at sea, free from the Ironwoods—a powerful family in the colonies—and the servitude he’s known at their hands. But with the arrival of an unusual passenger on his ship comes the insistent pull of the past that he can’t escape and the family that won’t let him go so easily. Now the Ironwoods are searching for a stolen object of untold value, one they believe only Etta, Nicholas’ passenger, can find. In order to protect her, he must ensure she brings it back to them—whether she wants to or not.

Together, Etta and Nicholas embark on a perilous journey across centuries and continents, piecing together clues left behind by the traveler who will do anything to keep the object out of the Ironwoods’ grasp. But as they get closer to the truth of their search, and the deadly game the Ironwoods are playing, treacherous forces threaten to separate Etta not only from Nicholas but from her path home… forever.

anchor divider

non spoilery review

Astonishing turn of events that will leave you in awe.  pass5.png

 

Hi there bookish peeps! I have been hiatus for a long time because I have been on a vacation and now looking for a job. I wish I’ll have all the luck into being hired in my desired airline agency. *fingers-crossed*. I’ve missed the blogsphere! I wonder if I still have my bookish friends here haha.

So for today I’m going to be reviewing Passenger by the lovely and awesome Alex Bracken. Have you read this one?  I finished this last April and posted a review on goodreads but sadly, I’m just updating it here now. This is going to be a short review I apologize >.<

So let’s start!

“You cannot fathom the distance I would travel for you.”

 

Yes! I was greatly astonished by the turn of events! This is my first Alex Bracken read and I must say that I am quite impressed with her writing style. She is like Tahere Mafi in a sense that they both use figures of speech and beautiful sentences to craft an engrossing events and lines. There were relevant and important issues tackled in this such as how people with different race and color were treated in different time periods, corruption of the upper class and government, and how one person takes all the power for his own benefit.

What I love about this, is that the story gives you a choice . It shows us that no matter where we are, we always have a choice. The story is pretty interesting and vast and you can’t even conclude or make wild guesses on what’s going to happen next. It is open to all sides and all possibilities and that’s what makes it so enthralling. Something more awaits.

The plot is enticing enough because of the presence of Time Traveling wherein so much thing could happen. There is also a set of riddles and whenever there’s a riddle presented, it felt engaging as if we are also part of the squad who needs to solve it to save the world. We try to solve it with the characters and that is so much fun.

Etta and Nicholas were interesting characters though I have to admit that I still can’t see the mature side of Etta, but she is likable and her POV doesn’t annoy me. Nicholas on the other hand was really mature and manly. I know that in the future installments of this book, they will improve as a character. The romance between them is not much strong but I liked it. I felt every frustrations they have about choosing to be together and sometimes you have to sacrifice a great deal of yourself just to save the other. But I still ship them though and I can’t wait to see more!

b32f9d9ada50d916708510dddce6d526.gif

The villain, I’m still not sure whether to be scared with him or not. But a man like him with every resources to hunt you down no matter which time period you hide in, really gives me shivers.

rating.png

I highly recommend this book because it has all the elements you’re looking for in a book. The characters were equally interesting and am excited for the second book and I hope it would be as interesting as the first one! And because this, I will read the other novels written by Alex Bracken because she’s starting to become one of my favorites. 😀

raw

anchor away 4

What are your thoughts about this book? Is it yay or nay? Let me know in the comments below! 😀

anchor divider

FOLLOW ME ON

INSTAGRAM.png

Follow Serene August's Goodreads Reviews.png

 

louisse

 

Leave a Reply

