BOOK REVIEW + DISCUSSION: It Ends with Us by Colleen Hoover

book review date.png

NEW ADULY BANNER.png

NAKED TRUTH: This book is very sad, haunting, painful, eye-opener and exceptionally honest. I could easily spoil everything away but I won’t. If you look for lots of reviews, it won’t be hard to find out what It Ends with Us is all about. But don’t judge a book based on its plot synopsis. This book is different than the rest of Colleen Hoover’s book. It’s better to know as little as possible before you read this book, which is why on this spoiler free review, I wouldn’t be talking about the events,  I’ll just tell you guys the naked truth on what I truly felt upon reading this.

it end wth us quote.png

 

it ends with us.jpg

 

TITLE: It Ends With Us
AUTHOR:  Colleen Hoover
GENRE: New Adult, Romance
FORMAT: eBOOK
PUBLISHER: Atria Books
PUBLICATION DATEAugust 2, 2016
DATE READ: August 3, 2016

ADD TO GOODREADS

BUY ON AMAZON

5

GOODREADS SYNOPSIS:

Lily hasn’t always had it easy, but that’s never stopped her from working hard for the life she wants. She’s come a long way from the small town in Maine where she grew up—she graduated from college, moved to Boston, and started her own business. So when she feels a spark with a gorgeous neurosurgeon named Ryle Kincaid, everything in Lily’s life suddenly seems almost too good to be true.

Ryle is assertive, stubborn, maybe even a little arrogant. He’s also sensitive, brilliant, and has a total soft spot for Lily. And the way he looks in scrubs certainly doesn’t hurt. Lily can’t get him out of her head. But Ryle’s complete aversion to relationships is disturbing. Even as Lily finds herself becoming the exception to his “no dating” rule, she can’t help but wonder what made him that way in the first place.

As questions about her new relationship overwhelm her, so do thoughts of Atlas Corrigan—her first love and a link to the past she left behind. He was her kindred spirit, her protector. When Atlas suddenly reappears, everything Lily has built with Ryle is threatened.

anchor divider

non spoilery review

POIGNANT. EMPOWERING. EYE-OPENING. ie.png

“Cycle exist because they are excruciating to break. It takes an astronomical amount of pain and courage to disrupt a familiar pattern. Sometimes, it’s easier to just keep running on the same circles, rather than facing the fear of jumping and possibly not landing on your feet. “
Naked Truth: I think I have used the word beautiful a couple of times without really knowing whether I think something is actually beautiful. But I’ll be straight forward now; this story is absolutely beautiful and unforgettable. It’s haunting in a way that it would probably stick with me for a long time. It made me think deep and assess my emotions and perception about things. This book almost killed me, but it also healed me somehow. After reading this book, I felt like I wasn’t anchored in the water anymore. I felt like I’ve reached the shore.

I made this review thinking that its better to not tell anything about the story. I could only say that you guys should read it for yourself. This book contains raw truths in it and there were times in which I had to stop and breathe and reflect. It was heartbreaking in a way that I just want it to stop because I don’t know if my heart could endure it anymore. But at the same time, it has beautiful message that I wish everyone could read it. This has been one of the realest story I have ever read and one of the stories that really left a huge impact .

It Ends with Us transcends us to a whole new level of what is imperfectly perfect. It tackled important issues in life and how we make decisions out of that situation. People sometimes make bad choices thinking it’s for the best. And it’s easy for us to judge when we’re standing outside a situation. Like Colleen and the rest of us, I’m also one of those people who spend our lives thinking if we were on that certain situation we could have handled it better. We could have easily walk away from things that hurt us. But in the minds of the people experiencing it, they have reasons for not leaving. Everything is different. We are just on-lookers, so who are we to judge.

“That’s what fifteen minutes can do to a person. It can destroy them.
It can save them.”

Another thing I love about this story is how mature the characters were. There were times in which you’ll truly get annoyed when the characters made bad choices but in this book, you will empathize with them, you will see things the way they see it and understood why they have to do it. The progression of the story is well written and for a certain time, I felt like I was inside it. I  realized that sometimes, we do not need a knight and shinning armor. Sometimes, our own hero lies within ourselves.

As much as I wanted to say more things, I will end my review here and I will head on to the spoiler filled review section down below. If you have read this book feel free to scroll down so we can discuss it.

And to Colleen Hoover, naked truth: I want to be you when I grow up.

WHAT ‘S YOUR ALL TIME FAVORITE COLLEEN HOOVER BOOK?


SPOILER ALERT!.png


spoiler filled review.png

plot and events discussion .png

After I’ve finished the book, I sat and stare out the window for awhile. It has been a long time since a book moved my heart because its message was so strong. I never expected that this book would deal about domestic violence or any other sensitive topic.   I thought it was an ordinary romance but I was surprised that it was something more. Kudos to Colleen because she had tackled this topic with much care and I could clearly see why since this story is based on her mother.

  • The Story Progression

I like the pacing of the story and the way the story was presented. We first met Lily and Ryle on the rooftop of an apartment. I really like the idea of confessing naked truths with each other and I really enjoyed how Colleen inserted a bit of a backstory on this first few pages through those naked truths. It also introduced us that there is something more to that back story. After this cheesy first meet up, we could easily see some personality of the characters especially Ryle, he suddenly said he wanted to f*ck Lily right now and I was like… whuut

daf.gif

Dude you just met! I immediately got the impression that he is a total player but it also added an enigmatic side of him because we don’t exactly know why he told Lily he’ll just settle for a one night stand after that he’ll never bug her. That is not the kind of main character we want eh eh. I was suspecting a major plot twist so I let this slide.

The story fast forward to six months later. Lily decided to open a flower shop and obviously Ryle and her path intertwined after Ryle’s sister happened to be her employee. And later we found out that 6 months later, Ryle still thinks about her and actually wants her. Fast forward and they “quickly” become a couple to the point that even their marriage happened so quick without any drama. Now I’ve emphasized the word quickly because yes, indeed, Ryle and Lily’s romance happened so fast it’s I just blinked and bam they’re married. at this point, I suspected that Colleen prepared something for us, and whatever it is, it’s gonna be heartbreaking.

It turned out that I wasn’t wrong. Because if the presence of backstory of Lily, we have seen the family set-up she have grown up with. An abusive father and a mother who’s being abused. And now that she’s married to Ryle, same fear grew in her heart especially when he first hit her. My jaw-dropped because why… why would a person who seemed like your hero, would hurt you? That’s when I realized where the story is going, history will repeat itself and just like her mother, she would do the exact same reasoning and excuses that those who’ve hurt us once won’t do it again. But it went on and on and on, and I started to sob. That’s what I like about this book, the progression of the story is not slow, it’s not too fast too. It just made sure that we get to the point, we still have time to feel its depth.

  • The Backstories

The flashbacks are one of the most powerful driver of this story. Through that, we could see things in the eyes of Lily, why we felt connected and why we resonate with her because we have seen what she had went through. Colleen made sure that she didn’t just “mention” Lily’s painful past but she made us see it and feel it. And the funny thing is, because of the flashback, I fell in love with Atlas Corrigan. In those few diary entries about him, we have seen a bigger picture and we have developed a heart for him.  He is a true genuine person who deserves the world. I’m really happy that he became successful.

  • It Ends With Us

Before we have started reading the book, we must’be wondered why “it ends with us?” Throughout reading the book, we realized that it reflected Lily’s final decision in her life. The excruciating cycle of abuse and heartbreak must end with her. She didn’t want her daughter to grew up like her; hating her father to death because of what he did to her mom. If you would think of it, Lily had protected both Ryle and their child. She did not allow her child to see Ryle at his worst so she wouldn’t hate him too. That really melt my heart because it’s a selfless act to protect the ones you love the most even it cost your own happiness. I really hope that she will end up with Atlas. I want to see a novella!!

characters.png

Lily: Calculative and contemplative. I really admire her bravery on facing difficult things in her life. She had been through a lot and yet she remained strong. I’m really happy with the decision she have come up, she had considered everything and think of a bigger picture for their future. In this book, we have witnessed Lily’s maturity, from someone who’s afraid to try to someone who made big decisions for her life.

Atlas: A genuine person and a loyal one. He was a broken boy but because the situation deemed him to do so, he had no other choice to but to survive alone no matter how difficult it become. Lily has been one of his sources of strength  and he never stopped doing the same for her. He’s a real knight and shinning armor whom you couldn’t forget easily not because he saved your life, but because he gave direction and meaning to it.

Ryle: If you’ll look on the outside, he’s someone you’ll ever dream of having; handsome and a successful neurosurgeon. But like every seemingly perfect character, he has a flaw. He had a traumatic incident when he was a child and up until now he’s living it. I think he has an anger management issue in which when his emotions reached he could potentially physically hurt someone.  It’s easy to understand where he’s coming from, like he didn’t mean to do the things he did to Lily. Lily must’ve reason out using that too, “he’s just sick, he didn’t mean it”  but even so, healing takes time. I feel sad that he will have to face this alone, but at the same time, proud of the decisions they both made as a married couple.

romance and ships.png

I’ve enjoyed the romance between Ryle and Lily but that was short lived because after I have learned who Atlas is, I felt more moved and connected with their romance. I felt like the romance that existed with Ryle and Lily was a product of strong infatuation a.k.a. insta love whereas with Atlas, it’s more real. Some may argue that maybe they didn’t really love each other, maybe they’re just two people who happened to have same bad situation and they have just become each other’s hero. That’s true at some point but if you’ll look closely, the little actions they do showed how much at the back of their mind, they still think about each other. Even many years had passed, Lily still kept the gift of Atlas and she even had a tattoo on her collarbone that signifies Atlas and their love for each other. Atlas worked so hard so that when he meets Lily again, he could finally provide things for her like she did before. It’s the little gestures that counts.

One more thing is that Atlas didn’t force Lily to love him. He had respect her decision of staying with Ryle but he reminded her that he’ll always be there for her no matter what.

“In the future . . . if by some miracle you ever find yourself in the position to fall in love again . . . fall in love with me.” He presses his lips against my forehead. “You’re still my favorite person, Lily. Always will be.”

crying-gif-24.gif

parts.png

I’ve always loved Colleen Hoover’s style of writing. It’s always honest and moving. Colleen admitted that she used to write for entertainment purposes but this time she wrote to send a message, to help us see things in the shoes of the one being abused. This has been one of her truest novels ever. Every time I read a Colleen Hoover book, I always feel like I’m about to embark on a journey that’s full of possibilities. I’m a fan of fantasy novels but I always find myself reading a contemporary story once in a while because of Colleen. Her style of writing makes us feel like we are the characters, if not, she always like to show us what we could possibly do if faced on the same situation as her characters.

rating.png

I rate this 5/5 stars because I feel like this is a very important book that should be read by everyone. It’s truly an eye-opener and it has a strong message that will really change how we perceive things.

anchor away5

Thank you for reading this review! See you again next time 🙂

anchor divider

FOLLOW ME:

INSTAGRAM.png

Follow Serene August's Goodreads Reviews.png

louisse

One thought on “BOOK REVIEW + DISCUSSION: It Ends with Us by Colleen Hoover

Leave a Reply

